

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 15, 2008 Contact: Joshua Schroeder jschroeder@iowaconference.com 319-366-4845

IOWA CONFERENCE WOMEN'S TENNIS INDIVIDUAL CHAMPIONSHIP PREVIEW

CEDAR RAPIDS, IOWA... The 2008 Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) Women's Tennis Championship with the Individual Tournament at Veterans Memorial Tennis Center in Cedar Rapids and Cornell College in Mount Vernon. All nine Conference schools will participate in the Individual Tournament.

Individual Flighted Tournament: Individuals are placed in flights based on the players' strength. The draw for the singles and doubles tournaments will be available Thursday afternoon and posted on the Iowa Conference web site at that time.

The Individual Flighted Tournament begins at 9 a.m. on both Friday and Saturday. Brackets will be completed through the quarterfinals on Friday with Flight A and B matches at Veterans and Flight C matches at Cornell. All of Saturday's matches will be at Veterans. Weather could force changes to the schedule. Any changes will be posted on the Iowa Conference web site at <u>www.iowaconference.com</u>.

Quarterfinalists in Flight A singles and semifinalists in Flight A doubles are deemed All-Conference.

2007 Individual Tournament Recap: Flight A singles saw four Coe players in the semifinals with top-seed and two-time defending Iowa Conference MVP **Molly Fiala** defeating **Andrea Schupbach**, her regular doubles partner, and No. 2-seed **Hannah Jensen** defeating **Hillary Allen** by identical 6-2, 6-0 scores. Fiala defeated Jensen 7-5, 6-2 to capture her second individual singles title in three years, while Schupbach defeated Allen 6-3, 6-0 for third place.

Three Luther players and a Central player comprised the semifinal field in Flight B singles. Luther's **Justine Allen** defeated teammate **Laura Williams** 6-1, 6-2 in one semifinal, while Luther's **Sara Dale** needed three sets to move past Central's **Steph Gibbons** 3-6, 6-2, 11-9. Allen, last year's champion at No. 6 singles, picked up her second individual singles title in as many years by topping Dale 6-3, 6-1. Gibbons defeated Williams 8-4 in the third-place match.

Flight C singles was an all-Dubuque final with **Rachel Sarafin** defeating **Andrea Gallo** 6-4, 6-2 to give the Spartans their first-ever Conference individual champion. In the semifinals, Sarafin defeated Simpson's **Jill Berner** 6-2, 6-2, while Gallo topped Buena Vista's **Katie Anliker** by a 6-4, 6-3 score. Berner took third place with an 8-0 win over Anliker.

In Flight A doubles, Molly Fiala and Andrea Schupbach topped teammates Hillary Allen and Hannah Jensen 9-7 in an all-Coe Championship match. It was Fiala's second doubles title in three years. In a great display of tennis on both sides, Fiala and Schupbach overcame a 7-2 deficit to capture the title. Fiala and Schupbach reached the final after posting an 8-5 victory over Cornell's **Pavla Brachova** and **Caryl Abeyta**, while Allen and Jensen edged Luther's **Kelsie Allen** and **Amy Christenson** 9-7 in the other semifinal. Brachova/Abeyta topped Allen/Christenson 8-2 in the third place match.

Luther's **Justine Allen** and **Fran Fairfield** captured the Flight B doubles crown with an 8-1 win over Simpson's **Alissa Nance** and **Jackie Suckow**. Nance and Suckow defeated Dubuque's Rachel Sarafin and **Lindsay Bonnell** 8-4 in one semifinal, while Allen and Fairfield topped Cornell's **Kristin Willard** and **Becky Birkhofer** 8-2 in the other. The Dubuque tandem captured third place when the Cornell duo was forced to retire from the match due to an injury.

Top Returning Individuals: Eight players that earned All-Conference honors in 2007 return for this year's Individual Tournament. Those numbers do not include **Molly Fiala** and **Andrea Schupbach** of Coe. Fiala, the three-time defending Iowa Conference MVP, and Schupbach will miss this weekend's tournament due to their participation in the ITA National Small-College Championships. Fiala also missed the 2006 Individual Tournament because of scheduling conflict created by her participation in the national ITA event.

With Fiala out of the mix, 2007 Flight A runner-up **Hannah Jensen** of Coe inherits the top seed in Flight A. Cornell's **Pavla Brachova**, Central's **Hilary Baehr**, Luther's **Alana Humpal**, Wartburg's **Molly Eslick**, and Coe's **Hillary Allen** and **Katy Delagardelle** are also in the draw. Allen, Delagardelle, Humpal, and Eslick were All-Conference in singles a year ago, while Brachova and Baehr were second at No. 1 and No. 2 singles, respectively, in 2006.

Sara Dale of Luther, runner-up in Flight B, returns to the flight this year, while third-place finisher **Stephanie Gibbons** of Central has moved up to Flight A. Dale is joined in Flight B by Flight C runner-up **Andrea Gallo** of Dubuque and semifinalists **Jill Berner** of Simpson and **Katie (Anliker) Arentson** of Buena Vista, leaving Flight C singles wide open for a new champion.

Allen and Jensen, runners-up in Flight A doubles a year ago, are both back in the Flight A doubles draw, but with different partners. Allen will play with **Courtney Koepke**, while Jensen will take the court with Delagardelle. Last year's third-place tandem of Pavla Brachova and **Caryl Abeyta** of Cornell are also in the Flight A doubles draw with different partners than a year ago. Brachova has paired with **Kirsten Lasley** and is seeded first. Abeyta is now paired with **Kendall Bielinski**.

Alana Humpal and **Katie Nichols** of Luther are seeded second in Flight A doubles, followed by Central's **Faith Bliss** and **Kayla Donner** and Wartburg's Molly Eslick and **Emily Heying**. **Fran Fairfield** of Luther, one-half of last year's Flight B doubles champion, is also participating in Flight A doubles with new partner **Cami Czech**.

Last year's runners-up at Flight B doubles, **Alissa Nance** and **Jackie Suckow** of Simpson, return to the flight, hoping to climb that final step on the podium. Dubuque's **Lindsay Bonnell**, a semifinalist last year with Rachel Sarafin, is now playing with **Lindsy Loney** and could meet Nance and Suckow in the second round.

Previous IIAC Women's Tennis Championship results can be found at:

http://www.iowaconference.com/women/tennis/tournaments.htm.

The brackets for the 2008 IIAC Women's Tennis Individual Tournament are attached.

~~ www.iowaconference.com ~~